Design for Digital Media Environments – Post 2 – UGC Platforms

What is a UGC platform and why is it important to this project?

UGC platform stands for User Generated Platform, which as it says is a platform often found online where the users input information, photos, video and lots of other content to the site to be viewed and shared by others visiting the site. This platform is extremely import to this project as the site that I intend to create with my team with by a UGC platform. A few examples of this platforms which are commonly used on a day to day basis are;

  • Youtube – Users create and upload videos onto there platform
  • Wikipedia – Users enter and update the information on the site
  • Open Street Map – Users add and keep the map up to date with the latest buildings, benches and much more

I will be taking inspiration from theses site and other sites which are similar to see how they allow the users to upload and update the sites content. To do this I will be messing around with some of the UGC platforms and uploading my content to see how easy it is and translating it into possible ideas that we could use with-in this project.

Te first site I will be using is wiki media which is a multi-media site where the users upload image, videos and sounds to the site. The media uploaded then have a commons licence attached to them which the user chooses which allows other users to use the media for free, some media will require referencing to the orginal creator and some will let you use it.

To upload my own images, I had to click on upload in the top right in the header on the home page, this sent me to a login-in or sign-up screen, once logged-in it redirected me to a file sector page where I choose the image I wanted to upload, after I choose the licence I wanted to use and finally I described the image and posted it. Image of the process are below. (Click on the images to enlarge)

Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 16.12.01Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 16.22.03Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 16.22.27Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 16.24.50Screen Shot 2015-02-11 at 16.25.07

 

There was a few things a liked about the upload process, one of them was how in your face the upload button was, I liked this as the website is user based by doing this, it makes it easy and quick to upload your media. However I didn’t like how many steps there was to uploading your media, however I can see why it was need in this case. However I don’t want so many steps on my site, this can be one of the design requirements.

The next website i’m going to look at is youtube and how the users can interact with the media upload by the users. To-do this I went onto youtube home page a picked a video at random. Once on the video there was a comment sections, like or dislike and a subscribe button. All 3 of theses features are cool and can be used in my project to create interactions between users allowing them to leave feedback and get in contact with one another.

Leave a Reply

