Design for Digital Media Environments – Post 7 – WebGL

Recently I have been shown WebGL which is “(Web Graphics Library) is a JavaScript API for rendering interactive 3D computer graphics and 2D graphics within any compatible web browser without the use of plug-ins.”(en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WebGL, 2015). This API will allow me to render 3D/.2D graphics onto my webpage, for example I could have a 3D model of a product rendered onto the webpage so the user can get a full 3D view of the product and this API will allow me to do this, however this API is something I would like to look into more in the future and hopefully use with-in my site in this project if needed. I have also found a JQuery plugin which will help me create this for me – http://www.360slider.com/

Here is a site with loads of project made using WebGL – https://www.chromeexperiments.com/webgl

Leave a Reply

